Case Teachers Directory


Limit to Case Authors




All  |  A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P  |  Q  |  R  |  S  |  T  |  U  |  V  |  W  |  X  |  Y  |  Z


G. Winfield Fairchild

Professor
Department of Biology
West Chester University of Pennsylvania
West Chester, Pennsylavnia 19383
wfairchild@wcupa.edu
Subject: Ecology / Environment

Julie Fairchild

Preceptor
Emergency Department
Ohio University, Chillicothe Branch
Chillicothe, Ohio 45601
Julie.Fairchild@ymail.com
Subject: Nursing

I precept numerous students through the Emergency Room at Adena in Ohio and would love to have some teaching tools to help them with cardiac experience.

Nathan Fairchild

Instructor
North Woods School
Redding, California 96001
nate_fair@yahoo.com
Subject: General Science

I would like to use case studies in my middle school instruction.

Akasha M. Faist

Assistant Professor
Department of Animal and Range Sciences
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88003
afaist@nmsu.edu

Morgan Falk

Department of Biology
Villanova University
Villanova, Pennsylvania 19085

Elaine Fanini

Professor
Math and Natural Science
Collin College
Mckinney, Texas 75071
efanini@collin.edu
Subject: Animal Science

I always incorporate clinical scenarios to my classes mainly to bring "real world" experience to my classroom but also to stimulate clinical thinking. For this reason I am very interested in using your case studies.

Grace A. Farber

Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of the Sciences
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104
g.farber@usciences.edu

Richard W. Fardy

High School Teacher
Science Department
Wilmington High School
Wilmington, Massachusetts 01887
richard.fardy@wilmington.k12.ma.us
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

I began using cases over 45 years ago, originally modifying case reports from the New England Journal of Medicine and JAMA. Recently, I've begun using the Buffalo cases and they have stimulated student interest in concepts in physiology.

Anne E. Farewell

Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Gothenburg
40530, Gothenburg, Sweden
anne.farewell@cmb.gu.se

Heather Farintosh

High School Teacher
Malvern Collegiate Institute
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
heather.farintosh@tdsb.on.ca
Subject: Biology

Natalie G. Farny

Assistant Teaching Professor
Department of Biology and Biotechnology
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609
nfarny@wpi.edu

Mary B. Farone

Associate Professor
Biology Department
Middle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro, Tennessee 37132
mary.farone@mtsu.edu
Subject: Biology

I currently use case studies in my medical microbiology course. This semester, I am teaching Research Ethics (MOBI 7200) to doctoral students in the Molecular Biosciences Program using a case study approach.

Mavis Faulknor

Director, Nursing Program / Lecturer
Allied Health
Hudson County Community College
Jersey City, New Jersey 07306
mfaulknor@hccc.edu
Subject: Nursing

As a teacher of Health Occupations, I have used case studies in teaching and they are very interactive and effective tools in a teaching and learning environment.

Jennifer Feenstra

Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Northwestern College
Orange City, Iowa 51041
jfeenstr@nwciowa.edu
Subject: Psychology

Robert Feissner

Instructor
Biology
SUNY Geneseo
Geneseo, New York 14454
feissner@geneseo.edu
Subject: Biology

Sussanh Feldman

Senior Lecturer
Department of Biological Sciences
Towson University
Towson, Maryland 21252-0001
sfeldman@towson.edu
Subject: Biology

I am interested in cases in general biology.

Valerie Felger

High School Teacher
Science
DATA/Roosevelt High School
San Antonio, Texas 78218
vfelge@neisd.net
Subject: Ecology / Environment

Students truly benefit from authentic case studies so I plan to use your case studies on a regular basis in my AP Environmental class.

Rhonda Felheim

Associate Professor
Sciences for Health Programs
Santa Fe College
Gainesville, Florida 32606
rhonda.felheim@sfcollege.edu
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

I am seeking activities that engage students in the classroom and lab situation that give them an opportunity to apply the material that they are learning.

Pauline Feltoe

High School Teacher
Science
Villanova College
Coorparoo, Brisbane, QLD 4151 Australia
pfeltoe@vnc.qld.edu.au
Subject: Science Education

The process engages students with real life learning experiences that are authentic and varied.

Kara Ferguson

High School Teacher
Science Department
Appoquinimink High School
Middletown, Delaware 19709
kara.ferguson@appo.k12.de.us
Subject: Chemistry

I was introduced to using case studies in my high school classes through a professional development opportunity offered through Delaware Technical Community College. I plan to try and incorporate them into my lessons in the upcoming years.

Thomas Ferguson

Adjunct Professor
Chemistry Department
Tacoma Community College
Tacoma, Washington
tferguson@tacomacc.edu
Subject: Chemistry

I am interested in using in class as a take home assignment that is practical. I heard about it through a colleague.

Nancy Fernandes

Teaching Assistant
Department of Biochemistry
University of New Hampshire
Durham, New Hampshire 03824
nld25@wildcats.unh.edu
Subject: Biochemistry/ Genomics

I have written a case study to submit, Chiari 1 Malformation: In Search of a Cause. I have been working on this project with Dr. Sarah Prescott at UNH Manchester for use in her Genomics and Bioinformatics upper-level undergraduate class.

Luis P. Fernandez

Sciences, Biotechnology, and Mathematics
University of California Berkeley Extension
Berkeley, California 94704
lfernandez@pioneer.ci.net
Subject: Clinical Laboratory Science

I am a trained scientist, not a clinician. Troubleshooting an experiment is not the same as analyzing a clinical case at different angles and levels. I want to acquire mastery in facilitating a case study discussion. Students' skills vary also.

Fleur M. Ferro

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Community College of Denver
Denver, Colorado 80204
fleur.ferro@ccd.edu

Thomas Fester

High School Teacher
Science Department
Clayton Valley High School
Concord, California 94521
festert@mdusd.k12.ca.us
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Our curriculum is changing next year to an inquiry based one. I was hoping to use the cases that are offered here as a possible open-ended model to have the students problem-solve more than they do now.

Patrick R. Field

Associate Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Kean University
Union, New Jersey 07003
pfield@cougar.kean.edu
Subject: Biology

I uses cases in the labs of my human gross anatomy and neuroscience courses to teach occupational therapy and speech and hearing science students the clinical aspects of their disciplines.

Julia Fiello

Biology Faculty
Department of Science and Fitness
Pima Community College / Desert Vista Campus
Tucson, Arizona 85709
jfiello@pima.edu
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

I currently am using investigative case-based labs (ICBLs) and the CaseIt! program to study genetic disorders such as Huntington's chorea and Fragile-X syndrome. The cases explore the biology underlying these disorders and the inherent ethical issues.

Jennifer Filippi

High School Teacher
Science
Folsom High School
Folsom, CA 95630
JFilippi@fcusd.org
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: Biology, Human Anatomy and Physiology

Mary Jo Fina

High School Teacher
CTAE - Healthcare Science
Richmond Hill High School
Richmond Hill, Georgia 31324
mfina@bryan.k12.ga.us
Subject: Medicine

I am a healthcare science teacher (Registered Nurse, BSN, MEd, teaching certification with gifted endorsement) instructing in the General Medicine Career Pathway. I've used the case studies Dengue Fever and the Pandemic of 1918 so far - thanks!

Seth Finck

High School Teacher
Biology
Wayzata High School
Plymouth, Minnesota 55446
seth.finck@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Subject: Biology

Timothy Finco

Associate Professor
Biology Department
Agnes Scott College
Decatur, Georgia 30030
tfinco@agnesscott.edu
Subject: Biology

I see cases as providing a wonderful opportunity to discuss ethical and moral issues that relate to various topics in the sciences.

Kim R. Finer

Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Kent State University at Stark
Canton, Ohio 44720
kfiner@kent.edu
Subject: Biology

Cases place content in a relevant context and are more likely to engage students in learning than more traditional methods of instruction. With so many ethical dilemmas arising from our increased genetic knowledge as a result of the human genome project, the case study method is a perfect "fit" when teaching a human genetics course.

Michael B. Finiguerra

Assistant Professor in Residence
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Connecticut: Avery Point Campus
Groton, Connecticut 06340
michael.finiguerra@uconn.edu

Korryna A. Finkelstein

Undergraduate Student
Undergraduate
Becker College
Worcester, Massachusetts 01609

Cassie Fishback

High School Teacher
Science
Crescenta Valley High School
La Crescenta, California 91505
cassie.fishback@gmail.com
Subject: Astronomy

Charles Fittz

High School Teacher
Science Department
Groton-Dunstable Regional High School
Groton, Massachusetts 01450
cfittz@gdrsd.org
Subject: Biology

Elizabeth A. Flaherty

Assistant Professor
Department of Forestry and Natural Resources
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907
eflaher@purdue.edu
Subject: Natural Resources / Ecology

Felicia Flanagan

High School Teacher
Weston High School
flanagan.amhs@gmail.com
Subject: Biology

Kyla Flanagan

Instructor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Calgary
Calgary, Alberta Canada
kmflanag@ucalgary.ca
Subject: Biology

Michael Fleck

High School Teacher
Hunters Lane High School
Nashville, Tennessee 37207
michael.fleck@mnps.org
Subject: Chemistry

I teach AP environmental science and the case studies give practical applications of what is taught in the book. It is also a great way for students to research topics and express their views.

Christine M. Fleet

Associate Professor
Biology Department
Emory & Henry College
Emory, Virginia 24327
cfleet@ehc.edu
Subject: Biology

I use cases with genetics, physiology, introductory biology, and bioethics classes. I appreciate the way they encourage discussion and integration of ideas.

Linnea Fletcher

Professor
Biotechnology and Biology
Austin Community College
Austin Texas 78702
linneaf@austincc.edu
Subject: Epidemiology

Courses Taught: Biotechnology, Biology

Brett Florance

High School Teacher
Biology and Environmental Science
Summit High School
Summit, NJ 07901
Bflorance@summit.k12.nj.us
Subject: Environmental Science

Courses Taught: Environmental Science

Michael R. Flores

High School Teacher
Science Department
Henry Ford Academy: The Alameda School for Art + Design
San Antonio, Texas 78207
mflores@thealamedaschool.org
Subject: Biochemistry / Chemistry

I like to use case studies as a way to introduce students to a topic of study. Students will work through a case study to what is going wrong, and along the way learn the normal physiology and biochemistry. I also like to use them as assessments.

Evelyn Floyd

Instructor
Nursing
College of Western Idaho
Nampa, Idaho
evelynfloyd@cwidaho.com
Subject: Health Professions

Courses Taught: Clinical Skills and onsite clinicals

Kathryn Flynn

Associate Professor
Interdisciplinary Studies
Auburn University
Auburn, Alabama 36849
flynnka@auburn.edu
Subject: Warer Quality / Water Resources

Erica Foley

High School Teacher
Science - AP Biology
SMART Academy
Denver, Colorado 80219
efoley@striveprep.org
Subject: Biology

I have heard form other teachers how wonderful the case studies are and I am interested in using them in my classes.

Kristie L. Foley

Professor
Social Sciences and Health Policy
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157
kfoley@wakehealth.edu

Michael L. Foley

Undergraduate Student
Life Sciences
Quest University Canada
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

John M. (Jack) Foran

Lecturer
Philosophy and Humanities
Buffalo State College
Buffalo, New York 14222
foranjm@buffalostate.edu
Subject: Science Education

Teresa Forbis

High School Teacher
Science
Santiago High School
Corona, CA 92881
teresa.forbis@cnusd.k12.ca.us
Subject: Agriculture/Forestry

Courses Taught: Biology, AP Environmental Science, Oceanography

Dayton J. Ford

Associate Professor of Biology
Pharmaceutical Sciences
St. Louis College of Pharmacy
St. Louis, Missouri 63110
dford@stlcop.edu
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

I have used cases in both my introduction to physiology and advanced physiology courses.

Felecia Ford

High School Teacher
Science
Mansfield High School
Mansfield, Tx. 76063
feleciaford@misdmail.org
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: AP Biology, Pre-AP Biology

Michael Ford

High School Teacher
Science
St. Ignatius High School
Cleveland, Ohio 44113
mford@ignatius.edu
Subject: Biology

My mentor is using this website in his instruction. I am in a one year M.Ed. program. I would like to integrate these lessons in my future teaching efforts.

Rosemary H. Ford

Associate Professor
Biology Department
Washington College
Chestertown, Maryland 21620
rford2@washcoll.edu
Subject: Biology

Thomas E. Ford

Professor
Psychology Department
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, North Carolina 28723
tford@email.wcu.edu
Subject: Psychology

Risa Formisano

High School Teacher
Science
South Carolina Connections Academy
Columbia, SC
rformisano@connectionseducation.com
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

Courses Taught: 7th and 8th grade Science; Physical Science; Environmental Science; Biology; Introduction to Biology

Susan Forrest

Professor
Biology Department
Butler Community College, El Dorado Campus
El Dorado, Kansas 67042
sforrest@butlercc.edu
Subject: Microbiology

I am interested in making my "disease" unit more case study based, rather than a Web-MD approach.

Dorothy N. Forsberg

High School Teacher
Special Education
U-Mass Transistions
Worcester, Massachusetts 01605
Dorothynf@aol.com
Subject: Biology

To help my students read more and apply concepts learned in classes.

Lorinda Forster

High School Teacher
Science Department
Kamehameha Schools
Honolulu, Hawaii 96817-1599
loforste@ksbe.edu
Subject: Chemistry / Biology

I teach chemistry, biology, and problem based learning classes. I am interested in case studies for all the above examples.

Jamie Forstman

High School Teacher
Science Department
Parrish High School
Parrish, Alabama 35580
Forstmanj@wcslive.com

Gary M. Fortier

Associate Professor of Animal Science
Department of Animal Biotechnology and Conservation
Delaware Valley College
Doylestown, Pennsylvania 18901
gary.fortier@delval.edu
Subject: Animal Science

I use cases in ecology, animal behavior, and wildlife management to engage students and create an active learning environment.

Ann W. Fourtner

Science Writer
Buffalo, New York

Charles R. Fourtner

Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York 14260
fourtner@buffalo.edu
Subject: Biology

Raylene Fowler

High School Teacher
Science
Bethel High School
Spanaway, WA 98387
rfowler@bethelsd.org
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: Biology, AP Biology, AICE (Cambridge) Biology

MeghanMarie Fowler-Finn

Management Analyst
Division of Student Transportation
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Washington, DC 20002
meghanmarie.fowler-finn@dc.gov

Dean Fraga

Professor
Department of Biology
The College of Wooster
Wooster, Ohio 44691
dfraga@wooster.edu
Subject: Biology

Valter Francesconi

Associate Professor
The Scripps Research Institute
wfranc@scripps.edu
Subject: Biology

Michael Francis

High School Teacher
Science Department
Nagle Catholic College
Geraldton, Western Australia 6530
francis.michael@cathednet.wa.edu.au
Subject: Chemistry

Veronica Francis

High School Teacher
Science Department
McArthur High School
Hollywood, Florida 33024
veronica.francis@browardschools.com
Subject: Ecology / Environment

I am interested in case studies for AP Environmental Science and Biology.

Josie Fraser

Associate Professor
School of Pharmacy
University of Bradford
Bradford, West Yorkshire, BD7 1DP United Kingdom
j.a.fraser@bradford.ac.uk
Subject: Pharmacy / Pharmacology

We use case studies in small group work on our existing MPharm course, but we just began a new "Team-based learning" (TBL) curriculum for our 2012-13 entrants, and we will use case studies for TBL application exercises.

Susan Fredstrom

Assistant Professor
Department of Family Consumer Science
Minnesota State University
Mankato, Minnesota 56001
susan.fredstrom@mnsu.edu
Subject: Nutrition

Thomas Freeman

High School Teacher
Science
Esperanza High School
Anaheim, California 92807
tfreeman@pylusd.org
Subject: Biology

I am interested in using the case studies with my AP Biology students and college-prep high school students who generally are freshmen and sophomores.

Ramsey Freiland

High School Teacher
Science Department
Stonewall Jackson High School
Manassas, Virginia. 20109
freilarg@pwcs.edu

I am very interested in using case studies in my science classes. I feel like it will really give some connection to real world application of the content of my class to my students.

Doug Friedman

Instructor
Department of Biological Sciences
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, Arizona 86011-5640
douglas.friedman@nau.edu
Subject: Biology

I would like the students in my large lecture hall class to discuss case studies in small groups and work to come up with explanations.

Jennifer Kreps Frisch

Assistant Director
Biology & Physics
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw, Georgia 30144
jfrisch1@kennesaw.edu
Subject: Science Education

I teach pre-service and in-service teachers about using case studies to teach science, and one of my research areas is how teachers use stories to teach science.

Jennifer Fritz

Lecturer
School of Biological Sciences
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas 78712
j.fritz@mail.utexas.edu
Subject: Biology

After attending a case study mini-workshop at my campus, I am working to incorporate cases into a large introductory biology lecture using the weekly discussion groups.

Dawn Fuelberth

High School Teacher
Science Department
VJ and Angela Skutt Catholic High School
Omaha, Nebraska 68130
dlfuelberth@schools.archomaha.org
Subject: Biology

I teach AP Biology and Honors Biology, an accelerated class for freshmen. The case studies would be an ideal addition to my curriculum methodology for fostering my students to be more science literate with necessary critical thinking skills.

Laura Funk

High School Teacher
Science Department
Horizon High School
Brighton, Colorado 80602
Laura.M.Trevenafunk@adams12.org
Subject: Animal Science

Linda C. Fuselier

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
University of Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky 40292
linda.fuselier@louisville.edu