Case Teachers Directory


Limit to Case Authors




All  |  A  |  B  |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P  |  Q  |  R  |  S  |  T  |  U  |  V  |  W  |  X  |  Y  |  Z


Serrena Tahvildari

High School Teacher
Science
Alliance Health Services Academy
Los Angeles, California 90047
stahvildari@laalliance.org
Subject: Health Professions

I am teaching Medical Science and I would love to use the case studies in my class. I think these case studies are a great resource because they help students with English comprehension and they bring relevance into the class.

Weslene T. Tallmadge

Associate Professor
Chemistry Department
Gannon University
Erie, Pennsylvania 16541
tallmadge@gannon.edu

Richard Tallman

Professor
Clinical Sciences
Rush University
Chicago, Illinois
richard_tallman@rush.edu
Subject: Medicine

I am just getting started with the case study method.

Antoine Taly

Professor
Licence Frontieres du Vivant
75014 Paris, France
taly@ibpc.fr
Subject: Biology

Siu-Lu  Tan

Psychology Department
Kalamazoo College
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49006

Brian Tande

Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota 58202
briantande@mail.und.edu
Subject: Engineering

Mike Tang

High School Teacher
Science
Southlands Christian Schools
Mtang@southlandscs.com
Subject: Biology

I would like to use more inquiry in my classroom.

Dawn R. Tanner

Teaching Specialist
Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, Minnesota 55108
tann0042@umn.edu

Arne Tarnvik

Professor
Department of Infectious Diseases
Umea University
SE-90187, Umea, Sweden
arne.tarnvik@infdis.umu.se
Subject: Medicine

I am interested in learning to construct and conduct longer directed cases for basic courses as well as for students in medical education.

Diana Tarpley

High School Teacher
Science
Fuquay-Varina High School
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina 27526
dtarpley@gmail.com
Subject: Biology

I am working to increase rigor in my classroom and feel that adding case studies to my program is one way of doing so.

Emily Tatarniuk

Student Teacher
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
emt380@mail.usask.ca

Kevin Tate

Assistant Professor
Biology
Truman State University
Kirksville, MO 63501
ktate@truman.edu
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: Anatomy and Physiology, Physiology, Freshman seminar

Patti Tate

High School Teacher
Science Department
Stephen Lewis Secondary School
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
patti.tate@yrdsb.edu.on.ca
Subject: Biology

I have never used case studies in my teaching, but I would like to try. I think it's an excellent way of relating content to issues that affect society. I believe that students will be better able to relate to the material.

Shoaib Tauheed

Professor
Physiology Department
Dow Medical College
Karachi, Pakistan
shaheens@cyber.net.pk
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Vanamali Tay

High School Teacher
Science Department
Francis Polytechnic Senior High
Sun Valley, California 91352
vbt4298@lausd.net
Subject: Chemistry

Ann T.S. Taylor

Professor
Department of Chemistry
Wabash College
Crawfordsville, Indiana 47933
taylora@wabash.edu
Subject: Chemistry

I use cases in my biochemistry course. They give a "real world" context for our experiments, help fill the "dead time" of biochemistry techniques, and integrate real world examples, primary literature sources, and active learning into the classroom.

Christine M. Taylor

High School Teacher
Science
Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
Miami, Florida 33143
ctaylor@olla.org
Subject: Ecology / Environment

I am interested in incorporating more case studies in my AP Environmental Science course. Students seem to understand and relate environmental concepts to real world situations easier than just memorizing the material.

Cornelia Taylor

Adjunct Professor
Biology Department
Tidewater Community College, Portsmouth Campus
Portsmouth, Virginia 23701
cztaylor@tcc.edu
Subject: Biology / Anatomy / Physiology

I would like to engage students in thinking of practical ways to apply the information they are learning.

Faith Taylor

High School Teacher
Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Phoenix, Arizona 85023
faith.taylor@edkey.org
Subject: Ecology / Environment

I am teaching AP Environmental Science and would like to use these case studies in my classroom.

Garfield Taylor

High School Teacher
Science Department
East High School
Rochester, New York 14609
Garfield.taylor@rcsdk12.org
Subject: Physics

I used case studies to introduce students to what a citizen is of the United States. The Mars rover project with other social and emotional stories will show how science is applicable to students' local experiences.

Gary Taylor

High School Teacher
Science Department
Francis Howell High School
St. Charles, Missouri 63304
gary.taylor@fhsdschools.org
Subject: Physics

Lauren Taylor

High School Teacher
Science
Westside High School
Houston, TX
ltaylo20@houstonisd.org
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: Medical Microbiology, Pathophysiology, AP Biology

Randy Taylor

High School Teacher
Science
McEachern High School
Powder Springs, Georgia 30127
RANDY.TAYLOR@COBBK12.ORG
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Allowing my students to work outside the normal curriculum.

Robert Taylor

High School Teacher
Science Department
Fleming Island High School
Fleming Island, Florida 32003
rbtaylor@mail.clay.k12.fl.us
Subject: Ecology / Environment

Jeremy Alden Teissere

Associate Professor
Biology and Neuroscience
Muhlenberg College
Allentown, Pennsylvania 18104
teissere@muhlenberg.edu
Subject: Biology

I am interested in developing alternative pedagogy for my introductory neuroscience course, including case studies. More generally, I’d like to use cases to increase my students’ critical interpretation of data and catalyze interdisciplinary discussion among the supplementary fields of neuroscience (biology, psychology, philosophy, etc.)

Pam Tejkl

High School Teacher
Science
Traverse City Central High School
Traverse City
tejklpa@tcaps.net
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology & Chemistry

Courses Taught: Anatomy/Physiology, Chemistry

Steven L. Telleen

Professor
Biology Department
San Joaquin Delta College
Stockton, California 95207
stelleen@deltacollege.edu

Tracy J. Terry

Assistant Professor
Division of Science and Wellness
The University of New Mexico—Valencia Campus
Los Lunas, New Mexico 87031
tjterry@unm.edu

Michael Tessmer

Associate Professor
Chemistry Department
Southwestern College
Winfield, Kansas 67156
mtessmer@sckans.edu
Subject: Chemistry

I like to use cases to encourage students to work in groups and to let them see how the material that they are learning is applied in the real world. If students see the relevance of the course material, they are more likely to want to learn more.

Jamie Tharp

High School Teacher
Science
Weatherford High School
Weatherford, TX 76087
jtharp@weatherfordisd.com
Subject: Chemistry

Courses Taught: Chemistry

Kelly Theel

Graduate Student Assistant
Department of Chemistry
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, California 92521

Subject: Chemistry

Joyce Theriot

High School Teacher
Science Department
Bayard Rustin High School
West Chester, Pennsylvania 19382
jtheriot@wcasd.net
Subject: Biology

I am looking for interesting cases for my seniors to investigate.

Katharine Thiessen

High School Teacher
Medical Careers Exploration Program
Children of the Earth
kathiessen@wsd1.org
Subject: Medicine

Katrina Thietje-Weihs

High School Teacher
Science
Lakes High School
Lakewood, Washington
kthietje@cloverpark.k12.wa.us
Subject: Ecology/Environment

Courses Taught: Environmental Science

Cheryl Thomas

High School Teacher
Biology Department
Maris Stella School
Overport 4067 KZN South Africa
cthomas@marisstella.co.za
Subject: Biology

I originally heard about this site at a Teachers Conference this weekend. I find the use of case studies very appealing to pupils, who tend to show an interest in the subject when they have something to mull over. Case studies have also been introduced, for the first time, as an option, for assessment at the matric level.

Janice Thomas

High School Teacher
Rosati-Kain High School
St.. Louis, Missouri 63108
jthomas@rosati-kain.org
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Jessica Thomas

Assistant Professor
Biology
Utica College
Utica, New York 13502
jhthomas@utica.edu
Subject: Biology

Suwicha Thongphanich

Instructor
Anatomy
Rangsit University
Pathum Thani, Thailand
suwicha.t@rsu.ac.th
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

Courses Taught: Anatomy, Human gross anatomy, Microanatomy, Developmental biology, Neuroanatomy

Alex Thrash

High School Teacher
Science
Butler High School
Augusta, Georgia 30906
NAThrash@aol.com
Subject: Chemistry

I teach high school chemistry in an urban school. I introduced PBL into my courses last year, and had varying degrees of success. If you have cases you think would be appropriate for 10–12th grade chemistry students, I would really like to take a look at them.

Diane Tice

Associate Professor
Biology
Morrisville State College
Morrisville, New York 13408
ticedg@morrisville.edu
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

I use cases to increase comprehension of difficult concepts in anatomy and physiology. I also use cases in my basic immunology and cancer biology courses to combine clinical relevance with the basic science of those subjects.

Linda L. Tichenor

Adjunct Professor
Biology Department
Aiken Technical College
Graniteville, SC 29829
tichenorl@atc.edu
Subject: Biological Sciences

I was writing cases even before attending your workshop, which was one of the best workshops I have ever attended. My book, Using Case Studies From the Living World, is an ancillary to G. Johnson’s text, The Living World (http://www.mhhe.com/biosci/genbio/casestudies/).

Chaleen Tidrick

High School Teacher
Science Department
Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools
Zoarville, Ohio 44656
chaleen.tidrick@tvtrojans.org
Subject: Biology

I am teaching AP biology, anatomy and physiology, and environmental science. Part of my philosophy in teaching is that students need to be able to apply what they learn and to understand how science applies to the real world. I believe that the use of case studies will allow students to achieve this application/understanding.

Jone Tiffany

Associate Professor
Nursing
Bethel University
St. Paul, Minnesota 55112
tifjon@bethel.edu
Subject: Nursing

I am looking for case studies for ethics in medicine and nursing.

Elethia W. Tillman

Lecturer
Department of Biology
Spelman College
Atlanta, Georgia 30331
etillman@spelman.edu
Subject: Biology / Anatomy / Physiology

Benjamin F. Timson

Professor
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Missouri State University
Springfield, Missouri 65897
bentimson@missouristate.edu
Subject: Anatomy/Physiology

Robin M. Tinghitella

Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Denver
Denver, Colorado 80208
robin.tinghitella@du.edu

Karen Tino

Middle School Teacher
Morrow Middle School
Morrow, Georgia 30260
karen.tino@clayton.k12.ga.us
Subject: Science Education

Marcia Tinone

Adjunct Professor
Chemistry Department
University of Hartford
West Hartford, Connecticut 06117
Tinone@hartford.edu
Subject: Chemistry

I am interested in applying case studies to a non-science majors chemistry course.

Sandra M. Tirado

Adjunct Professor
Biology and Chemistry
Ave Maria University
Ave Maria, Florida 34142
sandra.tirado@avemaria.edu
Subject: Biology

I am interested in real life scenarios to help students understand biology topics.

Monica L. Tischler

Professor
Department of Biological Science
Bendectine University
Lisle, Illinois 60532
mtischler@ben.edu
Subject: Biology

Albert Titus

Associate Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York 14260
ahtitus@buffalo.edu
Subject: Engineering

Shoshana Tobias

Former Student
Department of Biological Sciences
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York 14260

Sybil Tobierre

High School Teacher
Science
Herbert H. Lehman High School
Bronx, New York 10461
sstobierre@hotmail.com
Subject: Chemistry

I plan to use case studies as part of a weekly group-work lesson format.

Kaleigh A. Tockes

Undergraduate Student
Department of Biology
Bradley University
Peoria, Illinois 61625

Subject: Biology

Conrad Toepfer

Associate Professor of Biology, Division Chair
Division of Mathematics & Natural Sciences
Brescia University
Owensboro, Kentucky 42301
conrad.toepfer@brescia.edu
Subject: Ecology / Environment

Stephanie J. Toering Peters

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Wartburg College
Waverly, Iowa 50677
stephanie.toering@wartburg.edu

Jane Tofel

High School Teacher
Science Department
Cold Spring Harbor High School
Cold Spring Harbor, New York 11724
jtofel@csh.k12.ny.us
Subject: Ecology / Environment

I have only used case studies included in my textbook. I would love to enhance my AP Environmental curriculum with your resources.

Peter Tonsoline

Adjunct Professor
Science Department
Iroquois central High School/Canisius College/Medaille College
Elma, New York 14059
tonsoline@yahoo.com
Subject: Ecology / Environment

Debra Topham

Associate Professor
Minnesota State University - Mankato
debra.topham@mnsu.edu
Subject: Nursing

I've used case studies in the past and am looking for case studies for my pathophysiology class.

Leah Torisky

High School Teacher
Science Department
Red Bay High School
Red Bay, Alabama 35582
leahtorisky@franklin.k12.al.us
Subject: Chemistry

Rafael Tosado

Associate Professor
Natural Sciences
Inter American University of Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico 0919-1293
ratosado@intermetro.edu
Subject: Biology

I use investigative case-based learning experiences together with computer simulations aimed to develop quantitative and analytical thinking. I teach undergraduate courses in the areas of molecular biology, biochemistry, microbiology, and immunology.

Michelle Townshend

High School Teacher
Science Department
Mount Spokane High School
Mead,Washington 99021
michelle.townshend@mead354.org
Subject: Biology

I am interested in case studies to use in teaching concepts in AP Biology.

Tonya Laakko Train

Assistant Professor
Biology Department
Elon University
Elon, North Carolina 27244
ttrain@elon.edu
Subject: Biology

Tonya Laakko Train

Assistant Professor
Biology Department
Elon University
Elon, North Carolina 27244
ttrain@elon.edu

Allison Trento, ACNP-BC

Professor
Nursing
St. Anselm's College
Bedford, New Hampshire 03110
mikeandalliet@comcast.net
Subject: Nursing

Case studies encourage students to research the disease, etc., outside their textbooks and are useful in pulling it all together.

Gil Trevino

High School Teacher
Science Department
Overland High School
Aurora, Colorado 80012
gtrevino@cherrycreekschools.org
Subject: Chemistry

My experience with case studies is limited, but I am very interested in incorporating them into my curriculum.

Maria Trignetti

High School Teacher
Science
Istituto San Leonardo Murialdo Albano Laziale
Via Venezia 18 ciampino, Rome, Italy
mariatrignetti02@gmail.com
Subject: Biology

Courses Taught: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science

Antonio Trincone

Professor
Institute of Biomolecular Chemistry
National Research Council
Napoli, Italy
antonio.trincone@icb.cnr.it
Subject: Chemistry

Courses Taught: Organic Chemistry

Jordan Trull

High School Teacher
Science
Millbrook High School
Raleigh, North Carolina 27617
jtrull2@wcpss.net
Subject: Biology

I teach all levels of biology (i.e., Academic Biology, Honors Biology, AP Biology, IB Biology). I learned about this site at a workshop that I attended on the Common Core National Standards. Case studies seem to be a great way to make connections!

Cindy Trussell

Assistant Professor
Natural Sciences
Kodiak College / University of Alaska Anchorage
Kodiak, Alaska 99615
ctrussell@kodiak.alaska.edu
Subject: Biology

Scott Turner

Professor
Department of Behavioral & Social Sciences
University of Montevallo
Montevallo, Alabama 35115
turners@montevallo.edu
Subject: Political Science

N. Christine Turpin

High School Teacher
Science Department
Seton High School
Cincinnati, Ohio 45205
turpinc@setoncincinnati.org
Subject: Physics

I've used case studies in class previously - they promote lively discussion and critical thinking. Showing the complexity that develops when science becomes technology which then becomes used and perhaps misused by people is important.

Adriana Turrubiartes

High School Teacher
Escuela Maria Morelos Y Pavon
Mexico, San Luis Potosi
adrisrt@hotmail.com
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

I am very excited about using many of these interesting cases with my students. I am pretty sure they will be amazed with something like this! I would like to resolve them in teams and make them as a project so everyone would participate and learn more.

Debbie Tyson

High School Teacher
Science Department
Brooke Point High School
Stafford, Virginia 22554
tysondl@staffordschools.net
Subject: Ecology / Environment

I recently attended an IB Seminar and the other teachers were discussing how this site helps prepare their students for the IB Test. I try to use a variety of sources to prepare my students in every way possible.