2007 Workshop Roster

May 21–25, 2007

Please see the Case Study Teachers Directory for our latest contact information about participants who have chosen to be listed.



Gabriele Aborn
gabriele.aborn@chattanoogastate.edu
Biology
Chattanooga State Technical Community College
Chattanooga, TN

Courses: Anatomy and Physiology I & II (lecture and lab)
Case Topics: Endocrine system; Blood analysis or anything cardiovascular related; DNA or DNA fingerprinting


Nancy Aguilar-Roca
nmaguila@uci.edu
Developmental and Cell Biology
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA

Courses: Cell Biology
Case Topics: Cytoskeletons; Mitochondrial diseases; Membrane potentials


Deborah Anderson
deborah.anderson@snc.edu
Biology
St. Norbert College
De Pere, WI

Courses: Organismal Biology; Human Anatomy and Histology; Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy; Human Biology (non-majors)
Case Topics: Biodiversity; Speciation; Population ecology


Kathleen Archer
kathleen.archer@trincoll.edu
Biology
Trinity College
Hartford, CT

Courses: Introductory Biology (majors)
Case Topics: Gulf of Mexico Dead Zone; Plant biology


Frank Bowman
frank.bowman@und.edu
Chemical Engineering
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, ND

Courses: Unit Operations in Chemical Engineering; Chemical Engineering Reactor Design; Advanced Separations; Chemical Engineering Laboratory I
Case Topics: Common fluid flow applications of the Bernoulli equation; Heat exchangers; Residence time distributions in chemical reactors


Lindy Brigham
lbrigham@ag.arizona.edu
Applied Biosciences
The University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Courses: Regulatory Issues for Laboratory Managers
Case Topics: Hepatitis B drug development issues; Regulatory affairs in biotech; Issues in laboratory management


Sandra Caudle
sac@calhoun.edu
Natural Sciences
Calhoun Community College
Decatur, AL

Courses: Human Anatomy and Physiology I & II
Case Topics: The mystery of discovered skeletal remains; Infant heart transplants: Why did we not think of this sooner? The Hatfield-McCoy feud: Did disease fuel the McCoy temper?


Jane Chapman
jane.chapman@heartland.edu
Biology
Heartland Community College
Normal, IL

Courses: Anatomy and Physiology I & II; Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology; Contemporary Biology; Intoduction to Microbiology
Case Topics: Cardiovascular; Electrolyte and water balance; Aging


Leslie Clifford
lcliffor@mansfield.edu
Biology
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania
Mansfield, PA

Courses: General Biology; Ornithology; Human Anatomy and Physiology (lab)
Case Topics: Mating systems; Sexual selection; Avian digestive physiology/feeding adaptations


Marguerite Coomes
mcoomes@howard.edu
Biochemistry
Howard University College of Medicine
Washington, DC

Courses: Molecules and Cells (medical freshman); Biochemistry (graduate)
Case Topics: Onset of labor; phenylketonuria; Cytochrome P-450


Carolyn Dodson
carolyn.dodson@chattanoogastate.edu
Biology
Chattanooga State Technical Community College
Chattanooga, TN

Courses: General Biology; Integrated Life Sciences for Elementary Educators
Case Topics: Biotechnology (DNA); Climate change; Hormone control


Carmen Eilertson
biocxe@langate.gsu.edu
Biology
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA

Courses: Intro Biology (majors); Human Physiology (lecture and lab); Teaching Assistant Short Course; Pathophysiology; Human Anatomy
Case Topics: Human physiology; Cell biology; Global warming


Daria Estrada-Smith
destrada@email.unc.edu
Nutrition
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC

Courses:
Case Topics: Anatomy and physiology; Medical ethics; Food science and technology


Gail Goodman-Snitkoff
snitkofg@acp.edu
Pharmaceutical Sciences
Albany College of Pharmacy
Albany, NY

Courses: Immunology; Pharmacology; Complementary Medicine; Scientific Literature Evaluation; Coordinator for Peer-led Team Learning Workshops
Case Topics: Generation of antibody diversity; Defects in complement; MHC molecules and organ transplantation


Joan-Beth Gow
jgow@annamaria.edu
Biology
Anna Maria College
Paxton, MA

Courses: General Biology I & II; Microbiology
Case Topics: Ergot and the Salem Witch Trials; DNA fingerprinting; Evolution and microbial resistance to antibiotics


David Grise
david.grise@tamucc.edu

Life Sciences
Texas A&M University—Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi, TX
Courses: Biology I & II
Case Topics: Math models in biology


Kate Hamel
hamelk@sfsu.edu
Kinesiology
San Francisco State University
San Francisco, CA

Courses: Anatomical Kinesiology; Advanced Biomechanics I & II; Seminar in Kinesiology
Case Topics: Muscoloskeletal anatomy; Biomechanics; Exercise physiology


Ruby Jewel
ruby.jewel@email.aamu.edu

Education
Alabama A&M University
Normal, AL

Courses: Tests and Measurements; Evaluation of Teaching and Learning; Professional Seminar; Qualitative Research; Teaching Science in Secondary School; Teaching Mathematics in Secondary School
Case Topics: Retrovirus; AIDS; Diabetes


Craig Johnson
johnsonc@byui.edu
Mathematics
Brigham Young University—Idaho
Rexburg, ID

Courses: College Algebra; Math for the Real World; Introductory Statistics; Probability and Statistics; Advanced Statistical Methods
Case Topics: One sample, t-test/confidence interval; Two sample test; Durations and waiting times for Old Faithful


Rachna Kaushik
rk2365@columbia.edu
Biological Sciences
Columbia University
New York, NY
Courses: Frontiers of Science
Case Topics: Molecular biology & genetics; Evolutionary biology & animal behavior; General cases for science literacy


Sarah Kenick
sarah.kenick@unh.edu
Chemistry
University of New Hampshire
Manchester, NH

Courses:General Chemistry I & II; Organic Chemistry (with lab); General Biochemistry (with lab)
Case Topics: Green chemistry; Bioinformatics; Organic chemistry


Delores Knipp
delores.knipp@usafa.af.mil
Physics
US Air Force Academy
USAF Academy, CO

Courses: Introduction to Upper Atmospheric Physics and Space Weather; Introduction to Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers; Introduction to Electricity and Magnetism for Scientists and Engineers
Case Topics: Space weather storms; The unseen sun: Radiation beyond the visible; Space weather and GPS reliability


Patricia Kultgen
kultgen@morningside.edu
Biology
Morningside College
Sioux City, IA

Courses: Physiology; Genetics; Cell Biology
Case Topics: Hyponatremia; Infertility; Endocrine control of kidney function


Jeff Kushner
kushneja@jmu.edu
Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA

Courses: How Life Works; Medical Biotechnology; Energy in Living Systems; Nursing Pharmacology; The Multimedia Industry
Case Topics: Addiction, Stem cells, Nutritional neurobiology


Chris Lantz
lantz2cs@jmu.edu
Biology
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA

Courses: Medical Parasitology; Virology; Immunology (with lab)
Case Topics: Parasitology; Immunology; Microbiology


Elyse Lee
elyselee@med.unc.edu
Genetics
University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC

Courses: Frontiers in Biology (non-majors); Introduction to Biology; Molecular and Environmental Toxicology; Introduction to Genetics
Case Topics: Stem cells; Gene-environment interactions in cancer; Epigenetics


Rachel Meyer
meyer@morningside.edu
Biology
Morningside College
Sioux City, IA

Courses: Human Anatomy; Human Physiology; Medical Terminology
Case Topics: Hyponatremia; Infertility; Endocrine control of kidney function


Lucinda Miller
lmiller@nvcc.edu
Biology and Natural Science
Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale, VA
Courses: Human Anatomy and Physiology I & II; Health Science I & II
Case Topics: Urinary countercurrent mechanism; Microbial disease of the nervous system


Colin Montpetit
colin.montpetit@snc.edu
Biology
St. Norbert College
DePere, WI

Courses: Human Biology (nonmajors); General Biology I (majors); Systemic Physiology; Endocrinology
Case Topics: Endocrinology of adrenal gland; Cardiorespiratory physiology; Cardiovascular physiology


Alexis Nagengast
aanagengast@mail.widener.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Widener University
Chester, PA
Courses: Biochemistry Seminar; Biochemistry (Metabolism); General, Organic and Biological Chemistry for Nurses
Case Topics: The citric acid cycle; Glycolysis and gluconeogenesis; Amino acid metabolism


Susan Nava-Whitehead
swhitehead@beckercollege.edu
Sciences and Education
Becker College
Worcester, MA

Courses: Current Issues in Biology; Integrated Physical Science
Case Topics: Ergot toxicity; Genetics & evolution; Environmental science


Jill Nugent
jnugent@unt.edu
Biology
University of North Texas
Denton, TX

Courses: General Biology for Education Majors; Contemporary Biology (non-majors); Environmental Science; Plant Biology (non-majors); Science Education; Recitation for Principles of Biology (majors); New TA Orientation to Teaching Workshop
Case Topics: Solving wildlife crime; Environmental issues; Human health related case


Jeanine Pfeiffer
jmpfeiffer@ucdavis.edu
Environmental Studies/Science & Society
San Jose State University/UC Davis
Davis, CA

Courses: Introductory Environmental Studies; Nature & World Cultures; Concepts in Herbal Medicine; Women in Science & Engineering; Ethnoecology and Biocultural Diversity
Case Topics: Ethnobiology; Environmental biology; Environmental anthropology


Tyler Rose
trose@usn.edu
College of Pharmacy
University of Southern Nevada
South Jordan, UT

Courses: General Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Biochemistry; Medicinal Chemistry
Case Topics: Diabetes drugs; Drug metabolism; Glycolysis/gluconeogenesis/TCA cycle


Lauren Sahl
lsahl@mma.edu
Marine Sciences
Maine Maritime Academy
Castine, ME

Courses: Marine Geology; Introduction to Marine Sciences; Physical Oceanography; Sedimentology; Preparation for Research; Natural Disasters and Environmental Issues
Case Topics: LNG terminal; Global warming; Tidal generators


Linda Moon Stumpff
stumpffl@evergreen.edu
Tribal Governance and Environmental Studies
The Evergreen State College
Olympia, WA

Courses: Tribal Natural and Cultural Resources; Tribal Forestry; Environmental Studies: Research Methodology; Environmental Studies: Population and Energy Issues; Tribal Policy and Planning
Case Topics: Ecological restoration; Indigenous knowledge and science and fisheries; Forestry


Brian Tande
briantande@mail.und.edu
Chemical Engineering
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, ND

Courses: Transport Phenomena; Chemical Engineering (lab); Separation Processes
Case Topics: Heat transfer; Fluid mechanics; Diffusion


Pamela Tranby
ptranby@riverland.edu
Biology
Riverland Community College
Austin, MN

Courses: General Microbiology; Human Nutrition; Biology of Women; Ethics/Bioethics; Introduction to Forensic Science; Current Topics in Biology; Human Biology
Case Topics: Emerging infectious diseases; Bioterrorism; Bioethics


Paul Wendel
pwendel@kent.edu
Teaching, Learning, and Curriculum Studies
Kent State University
Kent, OH

Courses: Operation Physics: Methods of Teaching Physical Science; Methods for Secondary Science Educators
Case Topics: Creationism; Friedman, Hubble, and the expanding universe; Ernst Mach’s positivism


Leanne Wier
lwier@rose.edu
Engineering and Science
Rose State College
Midwest City, OK

Courses: Human Physiology; Cell Biology; Introduction to Biology
Case Topics: Human physiology: Nervous system; Cell biology; Human physiology: Urinary system


Gary Wood
gwood@ncstatecollege.edu
Math & Physics
North Central State College
Mansfield, OH

Courses: General Physics; College Physics I–III; Calculas Physics I–III
Case Topics: Newton’s Laws; Pascal’s Principle; Kirkoff’s Rules