2011 Workshop Roster

May 16–20, 2011

Please see the Case Study Teachers Directory for our latest contact information about participants who have chosen to be listed.



Valerie Balke
Biology and Chemistry
Delaware Technical & Community College
Newark, DE
vbalke@dtcc.edu

Topics: Metabolism and redox chemistry; Scientific method
Courses: Biology I & II, Principles of Microbiology, Biotechnology I & II


Evelyn Becker
Biological and Pharmaceutical Sciences

St. Louis College of Pharmacy
St. Louis, MO
ebecker@stlcop.edu

Topics: Health literacy/disease; Gene expression; Membrane structure/function
Courses: Introductory Biology, Biomedical Ethics


Amelia Belizaire
Math and Science
Midland College
Midland, TX
abelizaire@hotmail.com

Topics: Human anatomy and physiology
Courses: Human Anatomy & Physiology


Kathy Berggren
Communication
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY
kld4@cornell.edu

Topics: Audience; Speaking anxiety; Resolving conflict
Courses: Oral Communication, Teaching About Communication, Leadership


Stacey Blersch
Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering
University at Buffalo ERIE-IGERT Program
Buffalo, NY
sblersch@buffalo.edu

Topics: Multi-criterion decision-making analysis to support ecosystem restoration planning
Courses: None currently; working on Ph.D. dissertation


Julie Brady
Biology and Chemistry
Delaware Technical and Community College
Newark, DE
jbrady@dtcc.edu

Topics: Laboratory safety; Metabolism and redox chemistry; Scientific method
Courses: Chemical Principles I, Analytical Chemistry I & II, Basic Chemistry


D.C. Broil
Science
Afrikan Centered Education Collegium Campus
Kansas City, MO
dcbroilacecc@gmail.com

Topics: Structural formulas and isomerism; Energy: Hess' Law and enthalpy; Lewis structure of molecules with multiple bonds; unit conversion
Courses: Chemistry


Deanna Byrnes
Biology
Carthage College
Kenosha, WI
dbyrnes@carthage.edu

Topics:  White nose syndrome in bats; Wind towers, bats, and birds; Wetland destruction
Courses: Introductory Ecology, Advanced Ecology, Senior Thesis seminar


Eric Cooper
Biology
Hartwick College
Oneonta, NY
emcooper@jhsph.edu

Topics: Mechanisms used by tumor virsuses to induce cells to proliferate inappropriately; Strategies used by herpes viruses to remain latent and "hide" from the immune system; What can lysosomal storage diseases tell us about the biology of the secretory pathway
Courses: Advanced Cell Biology, Introductory Biology (cell- and molecular-focused), Immunology


Maxine Davis
Lyman Briggs College
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
davismax@msu.edu

Topics: Movement of pollution through soil; Nutrients in a stream; Properties of biodiesel 
Courses: Introduction to Quantitative Science and Research, General Chemistry Laboratory I & II, Rainforest and Reality in Nicaragua


Lindsey du Toit
Plant Pathology
Washington State University
Mount Vernon, WA
dutoit@wsu.edu

Topics: Disease management programs for specific diseases on farms; Impact of soil amendments on soil-borne disease; Role of alternative hosts in plant disease
Courses: Field Plant Pathology


Jack Eichler
Chemistry
University of California - Riverside
Riverside, CA
jack.eichler@ucr.edu

Topics: Air quality; Water quality; Renewable energy
Courses: General Chemistry; Inorganic Chemistry 


Julie Emerson
Biology
Amherst College
Amhers, MA
jemerson@amherst.edu

Topics: Membrane structure/function; Enzymes and metabolic pathways; Glucose catabolism; Photosynthesis; Genetics
Courses: Molecule, Genes, and Cells 


Ashley Fiamengo
Penn PORT Post-Doctoral Fellow - Chemistry
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
fiamengo@sas.upenn.edu

Topics: Pharmacology/toxicology; Household/everyday chemistry; Anesthesia
Courses: Chemistry  


Greg Gerdeman
Biology
Eckerd College
St. Petersburg, FL
gerdemgl@eckerd.edu

Topics: Neurobiological diseases and therapies; cellular signaling and/or respiration with a connection to natural medicines/toxins; Cancer biology
Courses: Cell Biology, General & Molecular Physiology, Receptor Pharmacology, Molecules and the Mind (non-science majors) 


Jackie Henderson
Mechanical Engineering
Bradley University
Peopria, IL
jhenderson@bradley.edu

Topics: Physical disability and the type of equipment that might be necessary; Understanding accidents or disasters and placing false blame; Any type of biomedical (non-biological) study
Courses: Foundations to Mechanical Engineering, Human Centered Design


Henry Hennep
Living Environment
Green Dot Charter School
Bronx, NY
hhennep@greendotny.org

Topics: Genetics; Cell division; Biochemistry
Courses: Living Environment, AP Biology 


Claudia Hinds
Science / Technology
Midland College
Midland, TX
chinds@midland.edu

Topics: Biology
Courses: General Biology


Kathy Hoppe
Department of Exceptional Children
Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
Rochester, NY
khoppe@monroe2boces.org

Topics: Immunity (possibly PANDAS)
Courses: K-12 Science Support, High School Biology


Lorie Lana
Biology
Stevenson University
Stevenson, MD
llana@stevenson.edu

Topics: Bacteria; Virsues; Interprofessional collaboration for delivery of health care
Courses: Microbiology, Immunology, Freshman Biology: Cells and Genetics


Susie Mackintosh
Chemistry
University at Buffalo ERIE-IGERT Program
Buffalo, NY
sm359@buffalo.edu

Topics: Aquatic food-web mediated transport in Lake Erie of persistent organic pollutants; bioaccumulation/biomagnifcation of persistent organic pollutants; history, use, and ways to reduce use of persistent organic pollutants
Courses: Chemistry 101/102


Paula Marks
Science
Groton School
Groton, MA
pmarks@groton.org

Topics: Cell signaling pathways/neural circuits; injuries/conditions related to athletics; Response of animal/plant to some type of stimuli (chemical, for example)
Courses:  Introductory Biology, AP Biology, Human Anatomy & Physiology, Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy/Dissection


Ann Massey
Family and Community Nursing
Emory University / Nell Hodgson School of Nursing
Atlanta, GA
ann.massey@emory.edu

Topics: Basic pharmacokinetics for healthcare students; Basic principles and actions of mechanism for antibiotics; Acides, bases, and buffers
Courses:  Human Anatomy & Physiology I & II, Integrated Science (pathophysiology and pharamcology for professional nursing students), Advanced Pharmacology (graduate-level pharmacotherapeutics)


Valerie Melburg
Social Science
Onondaga Community College
Syracuse, NY
melburgv@sunyocc.edu

Topics: Brain functions; Learning; Research methods
Courses: Introduction to Psychology, Abnormal Psychology


Merlana Mertens
Biology
Midland College
Midland, TX
mmertens@midland.edu

Topics: Biology
Courses: Biology


Deb Moore
Biology
Lake Superor College
Duluth, MN
d.moore@lsc.edu

Topics: Multiple sclerosis; Stroke; Toxic shock syndrome
Courses: Anatomy & Physiology 1 & 2, Microbiology, Pathophysiology


Jennifer Myka
Science
Galen College of Nursing
Cinncinati, ON
jmyka@galencollege.edu

Topics: Metabolism; Organism identification; Bacteria infected with phage
Courses: Microbiology 


Sara O'Brien
Biology
Marian University

Indianapolis, IN
sobrien@marian.edu

Topics: Physiology (particularly endocrinology); Neuroscience; Gene expression
Courses: Introductory Genetics, Advanced Molecular Genetics, Ecological Physiology, Neuroscience, Biochemistry


Nancy Ostiguy
Entomology
Penn State
University Park, PA
nxo3@psu.edu

Topics: Environmental impacts from energy changes on food supply and quality; Impact of climate change on food supply and quality; Impact of water quality on food supply and quality
Courses: Insect Connections, Food and Your Environment, Introductory Entomology, Statistical Analysis & Design  


Nicky Ozbek
Psychology
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
nicky-ozbek@utc.edu

Topics: Depression (treatment); Olfaction; Melatonin and sleep
Courses: Physiological Psychology


Erin Peters
Biology
Winona State University
Winona, MN
epeters@winona.edu

Topics:  Aral Sea; Sympatric speciation in Tragopogon and convergent evolution in lizards; Deer of St. Matthews Island, AK; Photosynthesis
Courses: General Biology (for non-majors), Environment, Society and Conservation (for non-majors) 


Fran Ragsdale
Biology
Winona State College
Winona, MN
fragsdale@winona.edu

Topics: Botox; Gene expression
Courses: Human Anatomy & Physiology, Cell Biology, Human Physiology, Vertebrate Physiology, Clinical Chemistry


Wendy Rappazzo
STEM
Harford Community College
Bel Air, MD
wrappazzo@harford.edu

Topics: Neuroanatomy; Neurophysiology; Acid-base imbalances; Renal physiology
Courses: Human Anatomy & Physiology I & II, Introductory Biology (for non-majors, online)


Brenda Schroeder
Plant Pathology
Washington State University
Pullman, WA
bschroeder@wsu.edu

Topics: Plant-microbe interactions; Type III secretion; Bacterial diseases of plants
Courses: Biology and Genetics of Bacterial Plant Pathogens, General Plant Pathology, Molecular Genetics of Plants and Pathogen Interactions


Ilse Silva-Krott
Biology
Northern Virgina Community College
Annandale, VA
ilse_silva@hotmail.com

Topics:
  Environmental science; Health and nutrition; Biology
Courses: Medical Terminology, Anatomy & Physiology, Nutrition, Nutrition and Health, Environmental Science, Biology, Genetics, Pathophysiology


David Stewart
Chemisty
University at Buffalo ERIE-IGERT Program
Buffalo, NY
dts8@buffalo.edu

Topics: Nanomaterials; Ecotoxicology; Chemistry
Courses: Chemistry


Tony Svozil
Science
Homewood-Flossmoor Community High School
Flossmoor, IL
asvozil@hfhighschool.org

Topics: Failure analysis; Engineering ethics
Courses: College Prep Physics, Honors Engineering Physics


Malvika Talwar
Biology
East Central College
Union, MO
mtalwar@eastcentral.edu

Topics: Electrolyte imbalance; The Tragedy of the Commons; Urinary system physiology
Courses: Anatomy & Physiology I & II, Introduction to Environmental Science (non-majors), Principles of Biology (majors)