Skip to Content

Case Authors Directory



Alex J. Sadowski

Game Design Intern
Catlilli Games
Warrenton, Virginia 20186

Lauren Sahl

Professor
Corning School of Ocean Studies
Maine Maritime Academy
Castine, Maine 04420
lauren.sahl@mma.edu
Subject: Marine Science

Sarah N. Salm

Professor
Science Department
Borough of Manhattan Community College / City University of New York
New York, New York 10007
ssalm@bmcc.cuny.edu

Wendy Saltzman

Professor
Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, California 92506
saltzman@ucr.edu

Otto Sanchez

Associate Professor
Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada L1H 7K4
otto.sanchez@uoit.ca
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Luke Sandro

High School Teacher
Science (Biology)
Springboro High School
Springboro, Ohio 45066
lsandro@springboro.org
Subject: Biology

Catherine Dana Santanello

Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, Illinois 62026-2000
csantan@siue.edu
Subject: Pharmacy

Jorge A. Santiago-Blay

Resident Research Associate
Department of Paleobiology
National Museum of Natural History / Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC 20013-7012
blayj@si.edu
Subject: Plant Science

Mark A. Sarvary

Senior Lecturer
Investigative Biology Teaching Laboratories
Cornell University
Ithaca, New York 14853
mas245@cornell.edu

Brian K. Sato

Associate Teaching Professor
Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, California 92697
bsato@uci.edu

Misa Scepanovic

Department of Electrical Engineering
Oklahoma State University

Jennifer E. Schaefer

Department of Biology
College of Saint Benedict / Saint. John’s University
Collegeville, Minnesota 55362
jschaefer@csbsju.edu
Subject: Neurobiology, Physiology

Hannah C. Schake

Undergraduate Student
Kinesiology and Sport Management
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas 79409

Ryan T. Schalles

Nursing Student
School of Nursing
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Lubbock, Texas 79430

Elaine M. Schamber

Agronomy Department
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907

Elizabeth Scharf

Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota 58202-8374
elizabeth.scharf@und.nodak.edu
Subject: Anthropology

Nancy A. Schiller

Librarian / Co-Director
University Libraries / National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York 14260
schiller@buffalo.edu
Subject: Science Education / Information Literacy / Library Science / Evolutionary Biology

Keith K. Schillo

Assistant Professor
Biology Department
SUNY College at Oneonta
Oneonta, New York 13820
schillkk@oneonta.edu
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Fred B. Schnee

Associate Professor
Department of Biology
Loras College
Dubuque, Iowa 52001
fred.schnee@loras.edu

Patricia Schneider

Professor
Biological Sciences and Geology
Queensborough Community College / City University of New York
Bayside, New York 11364-1497
pschneider@qcc.cuny.edu
Subject: Biology

Laura A. Schoenle

Assistant Director, Coordinator of Undergraduate Research and Honors
Office of Undergraduate Biology
Cornell University
Ithaca, New York 14853
las86@cornell.edu

Teresa M. Schulz

Professor
Science Department
Lansing Community College
Lansing, Michigan 48901-7210
schulzt@lcc.edu
Subject: Astronomy

Danielle Scriven

Research Assistant
Marine Affairs Program
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada B3H 4R2
danielle.scriven@dal.ca

Wayne Seames

Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota 58202-7101
wayneseames@mail.und.edu
Subject: Engineering

Silvia Secchi

Associate Professor
Department of Geography and Environmental Resources
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, Illinois 62901
ssecchi@siu.edu

Miriam Segura-Totten

Associate Professor and Harry B. Forester Chair
Department of Biology
University of North Georgia
Dahlonega, Georgia 30597
mstotten@ung.edu
Subject: Biology

Nadia Sellami

Postdoctoral Fellow 
Undergraduate Research Center - Sciences
University of California Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California 90095
nsellami@college.ucla.edu

Justin F. Shaffer

Teaching Associate Professor
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Colorado School of Mines
Golden, Colorado 80401
jshaffer@mines.edu
Subject: Biology

Md Rumi Shammin

Assistant Professor
Environmental Studies
Oberlin College
Oberlin, Ohio 44074
rumi.shammin@oberlin.edu
Subject: Environment

Caren D. Shapiro

Professor of Biology
Department of Mathematics & Natural Sciences
D’Youville College
Buffalo, New York 14201
shapiroc@dyc.edu
Subject: Biology

Annalisa L. Sharkey

Graduate Student
Center for Conservation Medicine
Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
North Grafton, Massachusetts 01536
annalisa.sharkey@gmail.com

Joan Sharp

Teaching Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Simon Fraser University
Burnaby, British Columbia V5A 1S6 Canada
jsharp@sfu.ca
Subject: Biology

Joyce A. Shaw

Associate Professor of Biology
School of Arts and Sciences
Endicott College
Beverly, Massachusetts 01915
jshaw@endicott.edu
Subject: Biology / Anatomy / Physiology

Stephen J. Shawl

Professor
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas 66045-7582
shawl@ku.edu
Subject: Astronomy

Daniela J. Shebitz

Associate Professor
School of Environmental and Sustainability Science
Kean University
Union, New Jersey 07083
dshebitz@kean.edu

Jane P. Sheldon

Professor
Department of Behavioral Sciences
University of Michigan—Dearborn
Dearborn, Michigan 48128
jsheldon@umich.edu

Daniel R. Sherman

Undergraduate Student
Department of Biology
Villanova University
Villanova, Pennsylvania 19085

Wayne Shew (rr)

Professor, Emeritus
Department of Biology
Birmingham-Southern College
Birmingham, Alabama 35254

Patricia A. Shields

Lecturer
Department of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland 20742
pshields@umd.edu
Subject: Microbiology

Joseph D. Shih

Assistant Professor of Biology
Natural Sciences and Mathematics
University of Saint Mary
Leavenworth, Kansas 66048
Shih429@stmary.edu

Jessica L. Shiltz

Graduate Student
Department of Epidemiology
West Virgina University
Morgantown, West Virginia 26506

Sarah R. Shioji

Nursing Student
School of Nursing
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at Abilene
Abilene, Texas 79601

Kristen H. Short

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Manchester University
North Manchester, Indiana 46962
khshort@manchester.edu

Michèle I. Shuster

Associate Professor
Department of Biology
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88003-8001
mshuster@nmsu.edu
Subject: Biology

Mary A. Sides

Biology Instructor
Biology Department
McLennan Community College
Waco, Texas 76708
msides@mclennan.edu
Subject: Biology

Cathy Silver Key

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
North Carolina Central University
Durham, North Carolina 27707
ckey@nccu.edu
Subject: Biology

Susan R. Singer

Lawrence McKinley Gould Professor of the Natural Sciences
Department of Biology
Carleton College
Northfield, Minnesota 55057
ssinger@carleton.edu
Subject: Biology

Jolanta Skalska

PhD
jskalska@gmail.com

Krista E. Slemmons

Associate Professor of Biology
Department of Biology
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481
kslemmon@uwsp.edu

Sarah R. Sletten

Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Sciences
UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Grand Forks, ND 58202
sarah.sletten@und.edu
Subject: Microbiology and Immunology

Ann C. Smith

Assistant Dean
Office of Undergraduate Studies
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland 20742
asmith@umd.edu
Subject: Microbiology

Brennan Smith

Assistant Professor
School of Food Science
University of Idaho
Moscow, Idaho 83844
brennans@uidaho.edu

James J. Smith

Professor
Lyman Briggs College
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
jimsmith@msu.edu
Subject: Biology

Kyle Smith

RN BSN CCRN SRNA
School of Nursing
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Edwardsville, Illinois 62026-1049
kylesmith_68@hotmail.com

Sohum Sohoni

Assistant Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, Oklahoma 74078
sohum.sohoni@okstate.edu
Subject: Computer Engineering

Constance M. Soja

Professor
Department of Geology
Colgate University
Hamilton, New York 13346
csoja@colgate.edu
Subject: Earth Sciences

David K. Spierer

Assistant Professor of Sports Sciences
School of Health Professions
Long Island University–Brooklyn Campus
Brooklyn, New York 11201
david.spierer@liu.edu
Subject: Health Professions

Thomas R. Stabler

Laboratory Director
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Canisius College
Buffalo, New York 14208
stabler@canisius.edu
Subject: Chemistry

Debra L. Stamper

Instructor of Orthopedic Surgery
Harvard Medical School
Brigham & Women’s Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts 02115
dstamper@partners.org
Subject: Biology

Alice M. Stanford

Associate Professor
Division of Science and Mathematics
University of the Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 00802
astanfo@uvi.edu
Subject: Biology

Kathrin F. Stanger-Hall

Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Biology
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia 30602
ksh@uga.edu
Subject: Biology

Claudia Stein

Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Biology and Tyson Research Center
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri 63130
cstein@wustl.edu

Daniel C. Stein

Professor
Department of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland 20742
dcstein@umd.edu

Jeffrey A. Steinmetz

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Francis Marion University
Florence, South Carolina 29502
jsteinmetz@fmarion.edu
Subject: Biology

Philip J. Stephens

Professor
Department of Biology
Villanova University
Villanova, Pennsylvania 19085
phil.stephens@villanova.edu
Subject: Anatomy / Physiology

Clinton Stevenson

Assistant Professor
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina 27695
cdsteve3@ncsu.edu
Subject: Food Science / Statistics

Maura O. Stevenson

Associate Teaching Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Quinnipiac University
Hamden, Connecticut 06518
Maura.Stevenson@quinnipiac.edu

Richard C. Stewart

Associate Professor
Department of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics
University of Maryland
College Park, Maryland 20742
alec@umd.edu
Subject: Microbiology

Anthony C. Steyermark

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
University of St. Thomas
St. Paul, Minnesota 55105
acsteyermark@stthomas.edu
Subject: Biology

Sarah G. Stonefoot

Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography & New Media
Department of Art & Art History
Beloit College
Beloit, Wisconsin 53511
stonefos@beloit.edu

Kari Brossard Stoos

Assistant Professor
Department of Health Promotion and Physical Education
Ithaca College
Ithaca, New York 14850
kstoos@ithaca.edu

Geffrey F. Stopper

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Sacred Heart University
Fairfield, Connecticut 06825
stopperg@sacredheart.edu
Subject: Biology

Amanda Storm

Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 28723
arstorm@email.wcu.edu

M. Elizabeth Strasser

Professor
Department of Anthropology
Sacramento State
Sacramento, California 95819-6106
strasser@saclink.csus.edu
Subject: Anthropology

Courtenay C. Strickland

Communications Development and Policy Specialist
C. Strickland Consulting
Miami, Florida 33156
cstrickland@cstricklandconsulting.com

Nathan Strong

Professor
Biological Sciences / Chemistry Department
New Hampshire Technical Institute
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-7412
nstrong@ccsnh.edu
Subject: Biology

Phoebe R. Stubblefield

Director of Forensic Science Program
Department of Anthropology
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, North Dakota 58202-8374
phoebe.stubblefield@und.edu
Subject: Anthropology

Sha Sun

Assistant Professor
Department of Developmental and Cell Biology
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, California 92697
shasun@uci.edu

Anitha Sundararajan

Research Scientist
Bioinformatics
National Center for Genome Resources
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505
asundara@ncgr.org

Jordan F. Suter

Assistant Professor
Economics & Environmental Studies
Oberlin College
Oberlin, Ohio 44074
jordan.suter@oberlin.edu

Jacelyn Swede

Undergraduate Student
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, California 92697